Aol.|Mail|Click here to return to AOL.com

How-To

Wipe sensitive info from your iOS device before you sell

As we approach Apple's (now) annual fall iPhone event, it's no surprise that many are planning on selling their current iOS device in preparation for the latest and greatest from Cupertino. With rumors of an iPhone trade-in program already underway, as well as a gold-colored iPhone in the works, it's looking like Apple is preparing for some serious sales. Here's how to wipe your old iOS device if you plan to upgrade or sell after today's announcement.

Because Apple maintains control over the supply chain of their devices, there isn't a varying set of instructions for a variety of different devices as you'll find with Android.

According to Apple's support page, simply do the following to remove all content and settings from your iOS device:

  1. Ensure that you backup your data if you're planning on upgrading to a new device. Restoring from a backup makes the setup process much easier.
  2. Go to "Settings," then "General," then "Reset," then "Erase all Content and Settings."

It's just that easy. As with Android, there are no special selections to make regarding specific security options. Once you confirm that you wish to wipe the device, the encryption key protecting your data is removed, rendering it unreadable by anyone. The memory is then erased, leaving you with a phone that might as well have been just taken out of its box.

Once your device is erased, feel free to sell it to someone else, put it in storage, or trade it in. None of your sensitive information will be accessible to anyone else.